“Short Time, Huge Impact (VI)”

March 9, 2010

This is my sixth installment in which I’ve told of happenings in my life that demonstrated to me that an event’s importance cannot be measured by its duration on a clock.  This one occurred when I was 28, having recently arrived at Canyon Lake the first time.

A board member of the church I pastored then was named Al Bowden.  He was a semi-retired pharmacist.  One day, I went by the pharmacy where he worked part-time and, in the middle of a conversation, he said matter-of-factly, “You’re going to have to learn that the days are long, but the years are short.”

At 28 years old, that statement was one of the craziest things I’d ever heard come out of anybody’s mouth.  I immediately wondered if Al was losing his grip on reality or was on the verge of Alzheimer’s disease.

However, over the years, as I’ve had reason to recall Al’s words, I’ve come to realize they are indeed profound in their wisdom.  On the first part of his observation, he was absolutely right that many days are so slow in their unfolding, or so painful or uncomfortable, that it seems they will never end.  But, the second part has gripped me even much more dramatically as the years have passed.  Sometimes, it seems as if I barely blink my eyes and another 5-10 years have sped by, causing me to ask, “Where did the time go?”

How do I account for this phenomenon (which many other people also notice)?  Since mankind is made in the likeness of God (Gen. 1:26-27), I think such awareness is a momentary glimpse of that likeness.  After all, as 2 Peter 3:8 says, “With the Lord, a day is as 1,000 years and 1,000 is as a day.”

Leave a Reply

