Short Time, Huge Impact (VIII)

March 30, 2010

This is the eighth installment in a series about how really important things in life frequently occur quickly.  It happened in 1987, when I was 38 years old.  I had recently resigned from a difficult pastoral ministry, following a man who had founded the church, been there over 20 years and really didn’t want to retire—circumstances that usually set things up for the next pastor to be a “sacrificial lamb.”

Although I should have seen it coming, it hurt badly.  As a result, I was in no conditional emotionally to take on another pastorate.  Yet, I had to support my family.  So, I put out my resume, hoping to soon find a church and relieve the financial stress.

Two years before, I’d finished my doctorate and I hoped to teach at some point in the future.  However, teaching positions were “scarce as hen’s teeth.”  So, I made no moves in that direction, assuming it would be a waste of time.

However, I did send my slick one-page pastoral resume to a man I had met at a conference the year before, a professor at a seminary in Southern California whose name is Robert Saucy.  At that conference, he had offered his assistance, if I ever needed it.  So, I figured that, since he spoke a lot in churches, he would probably be aware of openings in the Pacific Southwest.

To my surprise, Dr. Saucy gave my resume to the Dean of Talbot School of Theology, Biola University, Dr. Bing Hunter.  I soon received a short phone call from Dr. Hunter, asking if I would be willing to interview to become the Chair of the Bible Exposition Department at Talbot, an opening I didn’t know existed.  Unexpectedly and quickly, the Lord had done it again!

Leave a Reply

