Short Time, Huge Impact (XI)

April 27, 2010

A couple of months after the timing of my last article, another amazing incident happened.  Having lost my position as Academic Dean at Criswell College in Dallas due to getting divorced, I wondered if I would ever have another full-time ministry opportunity.  It happened…but not in a way I’d have ever expected.

In spring, 2006, I was living in Fairfield, TX, using an office at First Baptist Church, which was pastored by a friend, serving as a consultant to the church leadership.  I survived financially by teaching as an adjunct online professor and writing and editing.

Suddenly, one day in May I received an email from a friend at Canyon Lake.  But, before the “happy ending, let me give you a little background.  In 2004, a year after leaving Criswell, I had received a phone call from this friend, asking me to fill the pulpit of the church I pastored from 1977 to 1983 at the Lake for one Sunday.

Things went fine, though her attempt to actually get my name into the search process to be the next pastor did not happen.  They were too far along in that process.  However, her desire to do so had resulted in me giving her my resume.  And, when another church at Canyon Lake was looking for a pastor in 2006, she emailed me, inquiring about my interest.

That when things really started moving quickly!  She gave the retiring pastor, Neil Kibbe, the resume, he called me and we decided to meet halfway (in Taylor, northeast of Round Rock) a few days later to talk.  Within a couple of weeks, I came to preach.  As a result of those unusual—and unusually rapid-fire—circumstances, on July 1, 2006, I became the Pastor of Comal Country Church.

Leave a Reply

