Mother’s Day, 2010: The Impact of Godly Mothers

May 10, 2010

I was raised in a home with Christian parents, but not really a “Christian home.”  Although both my parents made true professions of faith in Jesus Christ in their earlier years, neither had been in churches where their faith was nurtured.  So, I was raised to be moral and ethical, but not “in the nurture and admonition of the Lord,” as the traditional wording of Ephesians 6:4 says.

That doesn’t mean, however, that I was without a strong Christian influence during my formative years.  My step-grandmother, who had the unusual name Plumie, was superintendent of both the Sunday School and Vacation Bible School at our church.  In those roles, she “motivated” my siblings and me to memorize scores of Bible verses by giving us candy or quarters (which actually could buy things back in the day!).  After I became a Christian in college, I realized the huge impact for good that memorization had made, and I owed it all to Plumie.

It was when I was away in college that my mother got serious in her relationship with the Lord.  After a decade of debilitating migraine headaches, she decided to passionately pursue learning the Bible, which, for her, included two trips to the Holy Land to walk the terrain with her painfully flat feet and bunions.  She soon was asked to teach women’s Bible studies around the Jackson, Mississippi area, which she continued to do until just before her death.

Did my Mother (Ann) ever teach me the Bible?  Not directly… but her great questions and curiosity about Scripture and related areas strongly motivated me to stay in the Word and never “put it on cruise control” spiritually.  So, on this Mother’s Day, I pay tribute to two godly mothers who impacted me greatly for the Lord.

Leave a Reply

