Visiting the Holy Land: The Flight to Tel Aviv

July 7, 2011

 After my emergency passport renewal adventure in New Orleans, in the nick of time I made a Delta flight to Atlanta, connecting to Kennedy in New York, where I finally caught up with my tour group, barely in time for the flight for Tel Aviv.  I then heaved a sigh of relief, getting to sit next to my wife.  However, as tired as I was, there was no rest for the weary!

If you have ever flown on long trans-oceanic flights, you know that, short of taking medication to knock you out, it’s incredibly difficult to sleep more than a couple of hours at a time.  Yes, they turn out as many lights as possible.  However, the (non-first class) seats are very uncomfortable.  People are climbing over you periodically, to go back and forth to the bathroom.  Of course, the movie screen is still on—so, when I woke up, I got to see the end of “The King’s Speech.”  And, being seated on an aisle, and having broad shoulders, flight attendants and other passengers brushed up against me, traversing the aisle in the dark.  (What a great opportunity for the “fruit of the Spirit” to control my reactions!)

If I recall correctly, we took off from Kennedy about 9:30 p.m., Eastern Time, Thursday, March 3.  We arrived in Tel Aviv about 4:00 p.m., Israeli time, Friday, the 4th.  Taking away seven hours (i.e., going east seven time zones), we were on the plane about 11 1/2 hours.  I think I got 2 1/2-3 hours of sleep.

Standing in line to clear customs with my new passport at the TelAviv Airport was a hassle.  But, we had arrived and I was going to get to sleep in a real bed!

Leave a Reply

